Future dreaming Part III #libraryfutures

What aspirations do I have for the next generations of librarians?

What is my long-term plan for librarianship?

By standing on the supportive shoulders of others, we can see beyond the visible horizon, to catch a glimpse of the seemingly invisible & apparently impossible future.

Not everyone is going to step up and be a leader. For one thing, there aren’t enough places – there’s usually only one person out front being the leader. But a great leader doesn’t get to that position by walking alone, they have a tribe of active supporters walking with them. A leader does not exist without a vision, and a leader does not exist without a tribe. While not all great leaders begin their journey with a tribe of supporters, they don’t get to where they are going without eventually finding that tribe to carry them forward.

I see my personal role in developing the next generation of leaders as actively supporting those who will lead us forward into the future.

My aspirational goal for 2030 is that our profession will no longer being having debates about what Te Tiriti o Waitangi means and how to implement memorandum of understandings and joint partnerships. The debate about Te Ao Māori being ‘other’ as opposed to being an integral part of our daily world will be long gone.

My aspirational goal for 2030 is that our profession will be inspired and led by collaborative groups of new & experienced practitioners, who both have an equal place at the table to develop & drive the profession forward, supported by an active & engaged group of professionals.

My aspiration goal for 2030 is that our profession will no longer delineate between physical & digital collections. We will have transitioned to a world where ‘collections’ is understood to mean physical, digital, multimedia, tangible, intangible, and every permutation in between.

My aspirational goal for 2030 is that our profession no longer exists in silos. Interactions & collaborations between public, school, academic, special, non-library will be so commonplace that we will no longer state “I’m a [sector-specific] librarian”, we will simply say “I am a librarian”.

My aspirational goal for 2030 is that while I will personally no longer be working in libraryland (and won’t have been for some time), I will be able to say that I made a difference to the profession by being actively engaged in supporting the next generation.

How will I make a difference?

Leave a Reply

